Monday, February 25, 2013

What to read next?

By Dru Ann L Love

I spent 48 hours in their world, standing next to the protagonist as they gather clue, while trying to nab a killer. The threats don’t deter us from our chosen path of being an amateur sleuth. Victory is ours when justice is achieved. But when it’s all done, I feel elated yet sad because I have to leave this world that I felt comfortable in. But then the evitable happens. What do I read next?

Unless I’m reading the books that I need to read for my monthly post over at the Cozy Chicks or books directly from authors and/or publishers, this is what I do most of the time.

I open up my Excel file and see what books I have on my list which will includes this month’s release and any leftover books from the previous month. Usually I’ll have anywhere between 20 to 30 books on my list. When I can’t make a decision, I go to Amazon and read the synopsis of the books and I’ll have an idea or two of which book I plan to read next. Sometimes I’ll even look at how many pages are in a book, anything to help me narrow down my choices. If I had all the time in the world to read all the books in a given month, I would but after 30 days, a new set of books are released.

But after all is said and done, it will come down to if my favorite author has a book out, or if I’m hearing buzz about a book that I already own or I the old standby of “eenie, meenie, miney, moe.”

How do you pick out the next book you plan to read?


  1. Sometimes books demand attention -- and they get it. As for the rest of the TBR stack, usually chronological (unless I have a review to do, or its for a panel or other event -- my professional obligations get moved to the top of the stack over pure pleasure. . . most of the time).

  2. You and I have a very similar system. I wish I could read faster so there were less books left over at the end of the month. I keep striving for that!

  3. So hard to do! Never enough time. Reviews from people like you and dollycas help!

  4. The ones I'm supposed to review go to the top of the list for me. Then the ones I've really been wanting to read. After that, those that have been recommended or in some other way hit my TBR list. But that third category gets hit less seldom than I'd like. I have lots of favorites and eagerly awaited books that come first right after professional obligations.